

City of La Crosse, Wisconsin

City Hall 400 La Crosse Street La Crosse, WI 54601

Department Details

Department name: Board of Zoning Appeals

Type: Board or Commission

Meeting time: 4:00 PM

Meeting location: Council Chambers

Primary contact: Nikki Elsen

Description: The Board of Zoning Appeals is responsible for granting or denying requests for variances

of the City Zoning Codes. The Board of Zoning Appeals consists of five members and two alternates who shall be appointed by Mayor subject to confirmation of the Council. The City Clerk shall serve as Secretary of the Board. The Mayor shall designate one of the members Chairman, one alternate as First and one as Second. The term of office of the members shall be for three calendar years, with no more than two terms expiring the same year, and

alternate serving staggered terms of three years. The first alternate shall act, with full power, only when a member refuses to vote because of interest or is absent. The second shall act only when the first refuses or is absent, or when more than one member refuses or is absent.

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
Anastasia Gentry Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	8/13/2015	11/1/2024	*
Douglas Farmer Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	9/12/2013	2/9/2026	
Jai Johnson Appointed By: Mayor	Second Alternate	8/31/2023	9/11/2025	
James Cherf Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	12/1/2019	2/9/2026	
James Szymalak Appointed By: Mayor	First Alternate	7/13/2023	7/13/2025	
Ryan Haug Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	4/13/2023	4/14/2025	
William Raven Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	4/13/2023	11/10/2025	

^{*} indicates extended term